The Making of an Award Winner

Do you want to recognize great professors on your campus—but aren't sure where to start? Learn from institutions who have successfully nominated a U.S. Professors of the Year award winner.


Emory & Henry College

Emory & Henry has a strong reputation for quality professors, which has been validated numerous times by this prestigious award. With each year that an E&H professor is honored, Emory & Henry professors celebrate with a renewed commitment to teaching excellence and to securing the best outcomes for students.

What we do:

At Emory & Henry College, a faculty honors committee convenes every February to select nominees for the U.S. Professors of the Year. The committee is comprised of faculty members, the vice president of academic affairs and the director of public relations. Members of the committee, many of whom are previous winners of the POY award, consider candidates who have won other on-campus awards and who have otherwise demonstrated strong results with regard to the criteria for the award.


University of Michigan

At the University of Michigan, we look for opportunities to highlight the importance of undergraduate education. The U.S. Professors of the Year competition offers a compelling way for us to communicate to faculty that we value the excellent work they do to promote significant student learning in classrooms, labs and studios.

What we do:

To generate a rich pool of candidates, the Center for Research on Learning and Teaching collaborates with the provost's office on an internal competition. All winners of our highest undergraduate teaching award (the Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship) may submit nomination packets. In addition, deans and department chairs may nominate candidates. A faculty review panel consisting of University of Michigan teaching award winners plus members of the CRLT Faculty Advisory Board recommends three University of Michigan nominees to the provost, who approves the final choices.

This careful process ensures that we have outstanding nominees for this important national award, and we have been pleased to have two national winners and two state winners over the past 10 years.