John Lippincott 2010 Reception Remarks

U.S. Professors of the Year Reception
Nov. 18, 2010
Folger Shakespeare Library, Great Hall

Remarks by CASE President

Good evening and welcome! I am John Lippincott, president of the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.

Thank you for joining us to honor our nation's top professors.

We are pleased that so many of you could share this celebration with us.

I would particularly like to recognize those members of Congress who took time away from their very busy schedules to join us tonight in saluting the U.S. Professors of the Year.

I am also grateful to all of the members of Congress who have recognized the Professors of the Year by writing letters of congratulations and meeting with them.

And a special thank you to Senator Mark Begich from Alaska, who has agreed to enter the 2010 national and state Professors of the Year into the Congressional Record within the week.

Please join me in thanking those members of Congress and their staffs who have helped us celebrate great teaching in our nation's college and university classrooms.

As we stand here in this marvelous library I think it wise for me to heed the words of William Shakespeare: "Tis better to be brief than tedious."

Let me briefly, then, give you a bit of background about those we honor this evening.

CASE created the U.S. Professors of the Year program in 1981 because we believe that excellence in undergraduate teaching should be promoted and celebrated.

Three decades later, this program remains the only national awards program that specifically honors exceptional undergraduate teaching.

At the awards luncheon earlier today, we announced and applauded the 2010 national and state winners.

It was a wonderful opportunity to recognize their commitment to undergraduate students, their creativity in the classroom and their enthusiasm for teaching.

Before I introduce our national winners to you, I would like you to join me in congratulating the many state winners who are with us from across the nation.

Would all of the state winners please raise your hands. And would the rest of you please put your hands together to applaud their efforts.

A special note to our state winners: two of this year's four national winners were previous state winners, so we may see you again in the future.

Now, I would like to introduce the four national winners and ask that they come forward when I call their names.

The Outstanding Baccalaureate Colleges Professor of the Year is John Zubizarreta, professor of English and director of Honors and Faculty Development, at Columbia College in Columbia, South Carolina.

The Outstanding Community Colleges Professor of the Year is Ping-Tung Chang, professor of mathematics at Matanuska-Susitna College in Palmer, Alaska.

The Outstanding Doctoral and Research Universities Professor of the Year is Teresa Balser, associate professor, Department of Soil Science, at the University of Wisconsin Madison, AND

The Outstanding Master's Universities and Colleges Professor of the Year is Russell Colson, professor of anthropology and earth science at Minnesota State University Moorhead.

CASE is especially pleased to collaborate with the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching in honoring the Professors of the Year.

Please join me in thanking our wonderful colleagues at the Foundation for helping make this program possible.

We are also deeply grateful to Phi Beta Kappa for sponsoring this evening's reception.

Who better than the nation's oldest honor society to help us honor great professors?

Please join me in thanking Phi Beta Kappa and welcoming to the lectern Scott Lurding, associate secretary of the Phi Beta Kappa Society.